100th Post Blogging Extravaganza*! (Contains talk of wine)

8 Apr

In the previous 99 posts, I’ve covered a lot of ground. I’d like to think that at least half of it was entertaining, and a tenth of it approached something you could call insightful. It’s fitting then that my 100th post be concerned with one of the most bizarre things that’s ever happened to me.

It’s no secret that from time to time I enjoy a quiet drink in polite company, and to me the best way to do that is to from a goon bag hoisted triumphantly over one’s head, as one might wield Excalibur. To celebrate this practice, I started a Facebook group called “International Goon Appreciation Day” and sent invites to 50 or people on my friends list. I feel I need to mention at this point that my original was intention was to create a joke holiday, and that nobody would actually take it seriously.

As usual, I was wrong.

In that first week I watched it go from 100 people to 500, then to 1000, then to 2000 in a little under a week. Over the weeks I watched people argue through wall posts, share pictures of their goon-related exploits, and received a few angry messages from self-appointed weed experts who were furious that I was ruining 4/20 day. And to those people I say this: for stoners you think you’d be better at sharing.

This continued more-or-less as normal until yesterday, when I got a message from someone who works for a news program. I won’t say which one to keep their bosses happy. We spoke on the phone for about half an hour today. I did a lot of probably nonsensical rambling, but  we discussed the event, why I started it, my thoughts on violence in Melbourne, and the implications of the proposed wine legislation. I’m going to repeat that because even I don’t quite believe it.

We are now all living in a universe where professional journalists want to hear about my opinions on tax law.

My suggestion is this: if you like goon, then go join the Facebook group. Then on April 20 show up, have fun, and please don’t hit anyone. It’ll make me look bad if everything gets set on fire.

*post may not meet government sanctioned requirements for an extravaganza level festivity
One Response to “100th Post Blogging Extravaganza*! (Contains talk of wine)”

  1. Erinkyan April 8, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    “We are now all living in a universe where professional journalists want to hear about my opinions on tax law.”

    God help us.

    Seriously though congrats on 100 posts and apparently being some kind of goon god. 😀

Leave a Reply

