Fire.

16 Mar

Tonight I sat by my window and watched the CFA perform a controlled burn around the Dandenong Ranges, right across Bonza View road. I grew up there, and it was an odd realisation that I was sitting in my new house watching the trees around the old one burn. If this was a movie a scene where the protagonist is in his new apartment, with a glass of wine in hand, watching silently as his childhood home burned could act as  a powerful metaphor. Perhaps as transition, a nostalgia for the fading memory of the past mixed with burgeoning hope for the future.

Luckily, I’m not the sort of person who can’t differentiate between fiction and real life, so that’s not a connection I would ever make.

Leave a Reply

