Patience.

8 Mar

What a terrible thing it is, to know that you’re done.  That you can point to a day in your life beyond which nothing happened. Call it the shallowness of youth, but getting old is a raw deal. The percentage of our society made up of the elderly will continue to grow, so this isn’t something that will go away. Will we have rest homes forever, or go the way of the ice flow?

Today I taught my Grandmother how to play Solitaire, a game she taught me 15 years ago and one she’s had at least 75 years practise playing. As I watched her flip the oversized cards I kept playing guessing games in my head. How long until she forgets the rules again? How long until she forgets my name? How long until she forgets her own?

I want so badly for there to be a better way, but I don’t know what that might be. All that’s left to do is wait.

Leave a Reply

